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In order for an adoption to take place, a person available to be adopted must be 
placed in the home of a person or persons eligible to adopt. All States, the District of 
Columbia, and the U.S. territories of American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the North-
ern Mariana Islands, and the Virgin Islands have laws that specify which persons are 
eligible as adopting parents and which persons can be adopted. In addition, most 
States, the District of Columbia, and the territories have laws that designate which 
persons or entities have the authority to make adoptive placements.  
 
 
In general, any single adult or a husband and wife jointly can be eligible to adopt. In 
addition, a stepparent can adopt the birth child of his or her spouse.1 In approxi-
mately2 17 States3 and the District of Columbia, there are no additional conditions 
specified. In some States, married persons may adopt singly if they are legally sepa-
rated from their spouse or if their spouse is legally incompetent.  
 
In approximately six States (Kentucky, Louisiana, Montana, New Jersey, Tennessee, 
and Washington), the age of adulthood for purposes of adoption is 18; three States 
(Colorado, Delaware, and Oklahoma) and American Samoa set the age at 21; and 
Georgia and Idaho specify age 25. A few States allow minors to adopt under certain 
circumstances, such as when the minor is the spouse of an adult adoptive parent, or 
when the minor is the unmarried birth parent of the child to be adopted. 
 
In approximately six States (California, Georgia, Nevada, New Jersey, South Dakota, 
and Utah) and the Northern Mariana Islands, the adopting parents must be at least 10 
years older than the person to be adopted. In Puerto Rico, the adopting parent must 
be at least 14 years older; in Idaho, the parent must be at least 15 years older. 
 
Approximately 17 States4, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the 
Virgin Islands require that petitioners for adoption be State residents. The required 
period of residency ranges from 60 days to 1 year. There are exceptions to the resi-
dency requirement in some States. For example, in South Carolina and Indiana, a 
nonresident can adopt a special needs child; in Illinois, Mississippi, New Mexico, and 
Rhode Island, a nonresident may adopt through an agency. 

State Statutes Series 2004 

Parties to an Adoption: Summary of State Laws 

Who May 
Adopt 

 
 

1A parent can usually adopt a stepchild without the spouse (the birth parent) joining in the petition, as long as the spouse consents to the adoption. 
2The word approximately is used to stress the fact that the statutes are constantly being revised and updated. 
3In Maryland, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Texas, any adult may adopt. In Alabama, Arizona, Hawaii, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachu-
setts, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, and Virginia, a single adult and married couples jointly may adopt. In Vermont, any adult and a parent’s partner 
may adopt. 
4Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Ten-
nessee, Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.  
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The statutory laws in most States are largely silent on the issue of adoption by gay 
and lesbian persons. At this time, only two States, Florida and Mississippi, explicitly 
prohibit adoption by homosexuals in their statutes. Utah bars adoption by persons 
who are cohabiting but not legally married; this language could be interpreted to  
encompass gay and lesbian adoptions. In Connecticut, the sexual orientation of the 
prospective adoptive parent may be considered, notwithstanding provisions in the 
State’s laws prohibiting discrimination based on sexual orientation. 
 
 
All States, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories permit the adoption of a 
child. Three States (Colorado, Indiana, and Rhode Island), American Samoa, and the 
Northern Mariana Islands specify that the child must be under age 18. Four States 
(Connecticut, Delaware, Montana, and Wisconsin), American Samoa, and Guam 
specify in statute that the child must be legally free for adoption. Six States (Arizona, 
Colorado, South Carolina, Texas, Wisconsin, and Wyoming), American Samoa, and 
the Virgin Islands require that the child to be adopted must be present in the State at 
the time the petition is filed. Iowa requires that the child must have resided for a mini-
mum period of 180 days in the home of the prospective adoptive parents. 
 
Approximately 26 States5 and the District of Columbia allow the adoption of any per-
son, regardless of age. Rhode Island, American Samoa, and the Northern Mariana 
Islands allow parties to petition the court for the adoption of persons over age 18 but 
under age 21. Nevada specifies that the adult to be adopted must be younger than 
the adoptive parent, and West Virginia allows a resident of that State to adopt an 
adult. 
 
Alabama restricts adoption of adults to persons who are permanently and totally dis-
abled or mentally retarded. Ohio allows adoption of an adult only when the person is 
permanently disabled, mentally retarded, or a stepchild or foster child with whom the 
relationship was established while the child was a minor. Idaho, Illinois, and South 
Dakota require that the adopting parent be in a sustained parental relationship for a 
specified period of time, ranging from 6 months to 2 years, with the adult to be 
adopted. Virginia allows the adoption of an adult stepchild, niece, or nephew, as long 
as the adopted person resided in the home for at least 3 months prior to reaching 
adulthood and is at least 15 years younger than the adopting parent. 
 
 
In general, any person or entity who has the right of consent to a child may place that 
child for adoption. Such persons include the birth parents or the child's legal guardian 
or guardian ad litem; legal entities include State Departments of Social Services or 
child-placing agencies. All States (except Arkansas), the District of Columbia, and all 
the U.S. territories (excluding the Northern Mariana Islands) specifically designate 
which persons or entities hold the authority to make adoptive placements.  
 
Most States allow "nonagency" placements of children for adoption, often referred to 
as "private" or "independent" adoption. One type of private adoption allowed in most 
States is the "direct placement" of a child by the birth parent with an adoptive family. 

Who May Be 
Adopted 

Gay and  
Lesbian 

Adoption 

Who May  
Place a Child 
for Adoption 

5Alaska, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, 
New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, and  
Wyoming.  
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Many States that allow direct placement have detailed statutory regulation in order to 
protect the interests of the parties to the adoption.  
 
Approximately six States (Alaska, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, and West Virginia) 
require that all adoptive placements be made by the State Departments of Human or 
Social Services or child-placing agencies that are licensed by the State or meet cer-
tain standards. In four States (Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, and Rhode Island), par-
ents who wish to make private placements must first obtain permission from the De-
partment or the court. 
 
A few States allow the use of intermediaries in arranging private placements. These 
intermediaries are usually attorneys, and their activities, as well as the compensation 
they are allowed to accept, are strictly regulated.6 
 
 

This publication is a product of the State Statutes Series prepared by the National Adoption Information 
Clearinghouse (NAIC). While every attempt has been made to be as complete as possible, additional infor-
mation on these topics may be in other sections of a State’s code as well as agency regulations, case law, 
and informal practices and procedures. 
 
Electronic copies of this publication may be downloaded from the Clearinghouse website at 
http://naic.acf.hhs.gov/general/legal/statutes/parties.cfm.  

� To find statute information for a particular State, go to 
http://naic.acf.hhs.gov/general/legal/statutes/search and select the specific State and topic. 

� To find information on all of the States and territories, view the complete PDF at 
http://naic.acf.hhs.gov/general/legal/statutes/partiesall.pdf or call the Clearinghouse at  

  (888) 251-0075 or (703) 352-3488 to order a copy.  

 

6For additional information about the use of intermediaries, see the NAIC publication Use of Advertising and Facilitators in Adoptive Placements at 
the NAIC website at http://naic.acf.hhs.gov. 
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Alabama 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 26-10A-5 
 
Any adult person or husband and wife jointly who are adults, with the following stipulations: 

• No regulation shall prevent an adoption by a single person solely because the person is single. 
• No regulation shall prevent an adoption solely because of the person's age. 
• No regulation shall prevent an adoption solely because the adult person is employed outside the home. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 26-10A-6 

• A minor 
• An adult who is:  

o Totally and permanently disabled 
o Mentally retarded 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 26-10A-33 

• A parent 
• A parent of a deceased parent 
• A relative of a degree of relationship specified in statute 
• Department of Human Resources 
• A licensed child-placing agency 
• An agency approved by the Department 

Alaska 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 25.23.020 

• A husband and wife together 
• An unmarried adult 
• The unmarried parent of the adoptee 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 25.23.010 
 
Any person  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 25.23.240 
 
A licensed child-placing agency  
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American Samoa 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 45.0411 

• Any person age 21 or older 
• A minor who petitions the court for approval to adopt 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 45.0410 

• Any child under 18 years of age, legally available and present in the territory 
• A person older than 18 but under 21, whose adoption is approved by the court 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 45.0413 

• An individual who is the guardian of the child 
• The court 
• The Department of Health 
• A child placement agency 

Arizona 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 8-103 

• Any adult resident of the State, whether married, unmarried, or legally separated 
• A husband and wife, who may jointly adopt 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 8-102 

• A child 
• A foreign-born person age 21 or less who is not an illegal alien 

A person to be adopted must be present within the State at the time the petition is filed.  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 8-130 

• A licensed child-placing agency may place a child. 
• A State licensed attorney can handle direct placements. 
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Arkansas 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 9-9-204 

• A husband and wife together, although one or both are minors 
• An unmarried adult 
• The unmarried parent of the adoptee 
• A married individual without the spouse, under specified conditions 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 9-9-203 
 
Any individual  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Not addressed in statutes reviewed  

California 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Family Code §§ 8600; 8601 
 
An adult at least 10 years older than the child, except under conditions specified  

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Family Code § 8600 
 
An unmarried minor  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Family Code §§ 8801.5; 8704 

• The child's birth parent 
• A licensed adoption agency 
• The department 

Colorado 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 19-5-202 

• Any person age 21 or older, including a foster parent, may adopt. 
• A minor may petition the court for approval. 
• A person with a living spouse shall adopt jointly. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 19-5-201 

• Any child under age 18 present in the State 
• A person over age 18 but under 21 if approved by the court 
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Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 19-5-206 

• The birth parent(s) 
• The court 
• The county Department of Social Services 
• A licensed child-placing agency 

Connecticut 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: §§ 45a-724; 45a-726a; 45a-732 
 
Any adult person may adopt, with the following stipulations: 

• The sexual orientation of the adopter may be considered when placing a child. 
• The Commissioner is not required to place a child with a person who is homosexual or bisexual. 
• A husband and wife must adopt jointly unless excepted by the court. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: §§ 45a-724; 45a-725 
 
Any minor child legally free for adoption, as defined by this section  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: §§ 45a-724; 45a-726 

• Any parent or statutory parent 
• The child's guardian(s) 
• The Commissioner of Children and Families 
• A child placing-agency 

Delaware 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Title 13, § 903 

• An unmarried person 
• Husband and wife jointly 
• A divorced or legally separated person 
• Residents of the State at the time of filing 
• Over age 21 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Title 13, § 908 
 
A child who is legally free for adoption  
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Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Title 13, § 904 

• The department 
• A licensed or authorized agency 

District of Columbia 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 16-302 

• Any person may adopt. 
• A married person must petition jointly with his spouse. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 16-303 
 
Any minor or adult  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 4-1405 

• The parent 
• A guardian 
• A relative within the third degree 
• A licensed child placing-agency 

Florida 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 63.042 

• A husband and wife jointly 
• An unmarried adult 
• A married person without a spouse if excused by the court for good cause shown 

No person is eligible to adopt if that person is a homosexual.  

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 63.042 
 
Any person, a minor or an adult  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: §§ 63.022; 63.202 

• A parent or intermediary who must report any placement to the Department of Children and Family Services 
• A child-placing agency that is licensed by the department 
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Georgia 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 19-8-3 
 
Any adult person, including a foster parent, who:  

• Is at least 25 years old or married and living with his spouse 
• Is at least 10 years older than the child 
• Has been a resident at least 6 months 
• Is financially, physically and mentally able to have permanent custody of the child 

Married persons must file a joint petition. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: §§ 19-8-3; 19-8-21 

• Any child 
• An adult who gives written consent 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 19-8-4 

• The parent or guardian 
• The department 
• Any child placing-agency 

Guam 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Tit. 19, § 4203 

• A husband and wife jointly 
• A stepparent 
• An unmarried adult 
• A married adult if legally separated from his spouse 
• Legal residents of Guam 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Tit. 19, § 4201 
 
Any child who is legally free for adoption  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Tit. 19, § 4201 

• The parents 
• Close relatives 
• Division of Social Services 
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Hawaii 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 578-1 

• Any unmarried adult 
• The spouse of a birth parent 
• A husband and wife jointly 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 578-1.5 

• Any person 
• An adult who gives written consent to the adoption 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 578-2 

• Parent or legal guardian 
• The department 
• Approved child placement organization 

Idaho 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: §§ 16-1501; 16-1502; 16-1503 

• Any adult resident of Idaho may adopt, subject to specific provisions stipulated in statute. 
• Person adopting, except the spouse of a natural parent, must be:  

o At least 15 years older than adoptee, or 
o Age 25 or older 

• If married, consent of the spouse is required. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 16-1501 

• Any minor child 
• Any adult where the adopting person has sustained the relationship of a parent for a period in excess of 1 year, or if the 

court determines a substantial family relationship has been created 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 16-1504 
 
Parent or legal guardian  
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Illinois 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: 750 ILCS 50/2 

• A resident for at least 6 months or a member of the armed forces domiciled in the state for 90 days 
• A reputable adult of either sex 
• A minor with leave of the court 

Husband and wife must petition jointly. 

Residency requirement does not apply to a related child or to an agency placement. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: 750 ILCS 50/3 

• Any child 
• Any adult who has resided with the adoptive parent for at least 2 years while the person was a minor or who is related to 

the adoptive parent 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: 750 ILCS 50/4.1 

• The Department of Children and Family Services 
• Any agency licensed by the department 

Indiana 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: §§ 31-19-2-2; 31-19-2-3; 31-19-2-4 

• A resident of Indiana may adopt. 
• A non-resident may adopt a hard to place child. 
• Husband and wife must petition jointly. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: §§ 31-19-2-2; 31-19-2-1 

• A child less than age 18 
• A person age 18 or older who consents to his adoption by a resident of Indiana 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 31-19-7-1 

• A licensed child-placing agency 
• The Division of Family and Children 
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Iowa 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 600.4 

• An unmarried adult 
• Husband and wife together 
• Husband or wife separately under certain conditions 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 600.10 
 
A minor person who has lived with adoption petitioner a minimum of 180 days  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: §§ 600.7; 600.7A 

• Guardian of the person to be adopted 
• The Department of Human Services 

Kansas 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 59-2113 

• Any adult 
• Husband and wife jointly 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 59-2113 
 
Any minor or adult  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 59-2112 

• The child's parent(s) 
• Legal guardian 
• Person in loco parentis 
• A child-placing agency 

Kentucky 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 199.470 

• Any person age 18 or older 
• A resident for at least 12 months 
• Husband and wife jointly 
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Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 199.470 
 
Any child  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: §§ 199.470; 199.473 

• A licensed agency 
• The State Cabinet 

All other persons must have permission of the Cabinet to place or receive a child. 

Louisiana 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Ch. Code Art. 1198, 1221 

• A single person, age 18 or older 
• A married couple jointly 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Ch. Code Art. 1198, 1221 
 
A child  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Ch. Code Art. 1198, 1221 

• Private placement 
• Child-placing agency 

Maine 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Tit. 18-A, § 9-301 

• A husband and wife jointly 
• An unmarried person 
• Resident or nonresident 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Tit. 18-A, § 9-301 
 
Any person, regardless of age  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Tit. 18-A, § 9-302 

• The child's parent(s) 
• Person or agency having legal custody of guardianship of the child 
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Maryland 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Family Law § 5-309 
 
Any adult, regardless of marital status  

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Family Law § 5-307 
 
Any person, whether minor or adult  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Family Law § 5-311 

• The birth parent(s) 
• A child placement agency that has been awarded guardianship 

Massachusetts 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Ch. 210 § 1 

• Any adult 
• Husband and wife jointly 
• A minor with his spouse to adopt the natural child of one of the parties 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Ch. 210 § 1 
 
Any person younger than the petitioner, except for a spouse, sibling, or aunt or uncle  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Ch. 210, §§ 2; 11A 

• The child's parent(s) 
• The Department of Social Services 
• A licensed child-placing agency 

Michigan 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 710.24 

• Any person 
• A husband and wife jointly 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 710.24 
 
Any child or adult  

    



 
 
 
Parties to an Adoption                                                                                            http://naic.acf.hhs.gov 
 

Current Through March 2004 15 
This material may be freely reproduced and distributed. 

However, when doing so, please credit the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse. 
 

 

Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: §§ 710.23a, 710.23b, 710.23c 

• A parent or guardian having legal and physical custody 
• A child-placing agency 
• The department 
• A court having legal custody 

Minnesota 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 259.22 

• Any person 
• Resident of the State 1 year or more 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 259.22 
 
Any child or adult  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: §§ 259.22; 259.47 

• Commissioner of Human Services 
• A licensed child-placing agency 

Direct placement by a parent or guardian must be approved by the court. 

Mississippi 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 93-17-3 

• An unmarried adult 
• A married person jointly with his spouse 
• State resident for a least 90 days, except in an agency adoption 

Adoption by persons of the same gender is prohibited. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 93-17-3 
 
Any person  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: §§ 93-17-5; 93-17-9 

• The parent(s) 
• Any two adult kin of the child if both parents are deceased 
• A guardian ad litem of an abandoned child 
• A child-placing agency to whom the child has been surrendered 
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Missouri 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 453.010 

• Any person, regardless of residence 
• A person who petitions jointly with his spouse 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 453.010 
 
Any child  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 453.014 

• The Division of Family Services of the Department of Social Services 
• A licensed child-placing agency 
• The child's parent(s) 
• An intermediary, including an attorney, physician, or clergyman 

Montana 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 42-1-106 

• A husband and wife jointly 
• A stepparent 
• An unmarried individual over the age 18 
• A married person singly who is legally separated or whose spouse is incompetent 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 42-1-105 

• A child who is legally free for adoption 
• Any adult 
• A stepchild 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 42-1-107 

• The department or agency to which the child has been relinquished or has been authorized to place the child 
• The child's parents 
• A guardian authorized by the court 
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Nebraska 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 43-101 

Any adult person 

A husband and wife must adopt jointly, unless the adoptive parent is a stepparent. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 43-101 

• Any minor child 
• Any adult child 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 43-105 

• The parents 
• The Department of Health and Human Services 
• A licensed child-placing agency 

Nevada 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: §§ 127.020; 127.030 

• An adult person at least 10 years older than the adoptee 
• Any adult 

Married persons must adopt jointly. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: §§ 127.020; 127.190 

• A minor child at least 10 years younger than the adoptive parent 
• Any adult person younger than the adoptive parent 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: §§ 127.040; 127.050 

• The child's parent(s) 
• The child's guardian 
• An agency that provides child welfare services  
• A licensed child-placing agency 
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New Hampshire 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 170-B:4 

• Husband and wife together 
• An unmarried adult 
• Any foster parent 
• The unmarried parent of the adoptee 
• A stepparent 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 170-B:3 
 
Any individual  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 170-B:5 

• The parents or legal guardian 
• The Department of Health and Human Services 
• An agency licensed to place children 

New Jersey 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 9:3-43 

• Any person who is at least 18 years of age and 10 years older than adoptee may adopt. 
• Married persons must adopt jointly. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 9:3-39.1 
 
Any child  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 9:3-39.1 

• The parent or guardian of the child 
• An approved agency 
• An intermediary, if the adoptive parent has a home study through an approved agency 

New Mexico 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 32A-5-11 

• Any resident who has been approved by the court 
• Non-residents in cases in which a New Mexico agency or the department placed the child 

A married person may file separately if a stepparent or legally separated. 
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   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: §§ 32A-5-11; 32A-5-5 

• Any child 
• An Indian child should be placed with:  

o His extended family 
o Members of his tribe or 
o Other Indian families 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 32A-5-12 

• The department 
• The appropriate public authority of another State 
• An agency 
• The court 
• The parent 

New York 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Dom. Rel. § 110 

• An adult unmarried person 
• An adult husband and adult wife together 
• An adult married person legally separated 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Dom. Rel. § 110 
 
Any person  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Soc. Serv. § 374 

• An authorized agency 
• A parent 
• A legal guardian 
• A relative within the second degree 

North Carolina 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 48-1-103 

• Any adult may adopt. 
• Spouses may not adopt each other. 
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Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 48-1-104 
 
Any individual  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 48-3-201 

• An agency 
• A guardian 
• Both parents if married and living together 
• A parent with legal and physical custody of the child 

North Dakota 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 14-15-03 

• A husband and wife together if not separated, even if one or both are minors 
• An unmarried adult 
• The unmarried parent of the adoptee 
• A married individual legally separated 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 14-15-02 
 
Any individual  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: §§ 14-15-05; 50-06-01.4 

• The child's parent(s) 
• Custodian of the child 
• The department 
• A licensed child-placing agency 

Northern Mariana Islands 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 1403 
 
Any adult resident who is:  

• Unmarried 
• Married to the legal parent 
• Husband and wife jointly 
• At least 10 years older than the child to be adopted 
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Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 1402 
 
Any person under age 18 

The court may allow the adoption of persons over age 18 if in conformance with local custom or not for the purpose of evading the 
law. 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Not addressed in statutes reviewed  

Ohio 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 3107.03 

• A husband and wife together, at least one of whom is an adult 
• An unmarried adult or a married person singly if legally separated 
• An unmarried minor parent 
• A stepparent 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 3107.02 

• Any minor 
• An adult if he is:  

o Totally and permanently disabled 
o Mentally retarded 
o A stepchild or foster child and the relationship was established while the person was still a minor 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 3107.011 
 
All adoptions must be arranged by an agency or an attorney.  

Oklahoma 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Tit. 10, § 7503-1.1 

• A husband and wife jointly if both are least age 21 
• A stepparent 
• An unmarried or legally separated person at least age 21 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Tit. 10, §§ 7503-1.1; 7507-1.1 

• A child 
• An adult 

    

 



 
 
 
Parties to an Adoption                                                                                            http://naic.acf.hhs.gov 
 

Current Through March 2004 22 
This material may be freely reproduced and distributed. 

However, when doing so, please credit the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse. 
 

 

Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Tit. 10, § 7503-2.1 

• The child's parent(s) 
• Legal guardian or guardian ad litem 
• The department 
• A licensed child-placing agency 

Oregon 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 109.309 
 
Any person as long as at least one party in the proceeding is a resident of Oregon  

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 109.309 

• A minor child 
• An adult 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 109.309 

• A parent 
• A relative or other person 
• A licensed adoption agency 

Pennsylvania 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: 23 Pa. § 2312 
 
Any individual  

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: 23 Pa. § 2311 
 
Any individual, regardless of age or residence  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: 23 Pa. §§ 2501; 2502 

• The child's parent(s) 
• A child-placing agency 
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Puerto Rico 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Tit. 31, §§ 531; 532 
 
The adopter must:  

• Be a resident for at least 6 months 
• Be of legal age 
• Have legal capacity to act 
• Be at least 14 years older than the adoptee 

A person may not adopt if he is:  

• Declared incompetent 
• Incarcerated 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Tit. 31, § 533 

• Nonemancipated minors and minors emancipated by judicial decree 
• An unmarried emancipated minor or person of legal age may be adopted under circumstances specified in statute 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Tit. 31, § 535 

• The child's parent(s)  
• The department 
• Legal guardian  
• The child's grandparents 

Rhode Island 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 15-7-4 

• Any resident  
• A non-resident who adopts a child in the custody of a child-placing agency 

A husband and wife must petition jointly. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 15-7-4 

• Any person younger than the adopter and under age 18 
• Persons over age 18 whose adoptions are granted by the probate court 
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Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 15-7-2 

• A parent who notifies the department 
• The department or child-placing agency 

South Carolina 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 20-7-1670 

• Any South Carolina resident may adopt. 
• A non-resident may adopt:  

o A special needs child  
o If the child is being placed with a relative 
o If the adopter is a member of the military 
o A legally freed child in foster care 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 20-7-1660 
 
Any child present within the State at the time the petition is filed  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 20-7-1670 

• A parent 
• The department 
• A child-placing agency 

South Dakota 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 25-6-2; 25-6-3 

• Any adult person, at least 10 years older than the adoptee 
• A married person who has the consent of his or her spouse, unless legally separated 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: §§ 25-6-2; 25-6-18 

• Any minor child 
• An adult, if he or she lived in the home of the adoptive parents during his or her minority for at least 6 months 
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Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 26-6-8 

• A parent 
• A guardian 
• A relative within the 2nd degree 
• A licensed child welfare agency 
• The Department of Social Services 

Tennessee 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 36-1-115 
 
Any person over age 18 who has been a resident for at least 6 months may adopt, with the following stipulations: 

• Spouses must petition jointly. 
• Foster parents are given first preference on adopting their foster child. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 36-1-115 
 
Any person  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 36-1-108 

• A parent 
• The department 
• A licensed child-placing agency 
• A licensed clinical social worker 

Texas 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Fam. Code § 162.001 
 
An adult  

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Fam. Code § 162.001 
 
A child residing in the State if:  

• The rights of the parents have been terminated 
• The petitioner is a stepparent 
• The child is at least 2 years old, and the petitioner is a former stepparent who: 

o Has cared for the child at least 6 months, and the non-terminated parent consents 
o Has had care, possession, and control of the child for at least 1 year 
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Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Fam. Code § 162.025 

• The child's natural or adoptive parent 
• The child's legal guardian 
• A licensed child-placing agency 

Utah 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: §§ 78-30-1; 78-30-2; 78-30-3 

• The following persons are eligible to adopt: 
o Adults who are legally married to each other 
o A stepparent 
o Any single adult 

• Persons who are cohabiting but not legally married may not adopt. 
• The adoptive parent must be at least 10 years older than the adoptee. 
• In the case of a married couple, only one person needs to be 10 years older. 
• A married person may not adopt without the consent of his or her spouse. 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 78-30-1 

• Any minor child 
• Any adult 

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 62A-4a-602 

• A parent 
• A licensed child-placing agency 

Vermont 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Tit. 15A, § 1-102 

• Any person 
• A parent's partner 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Tit. 15A, § 1-102 
 
Any person  
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Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Tit. 15A, § 2-101 

• The parent having legal custody 
• A guardian 
• An agency to which the child has been relinquished 

Virgin Islands 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: Tit. 16, § 141 

• Any inhabitant of the Virgin Islands 
• Married couples jointly 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: Tit. 16, § 141 
 
A child who is in the Virgin Islands  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: Tit. 16, § 142 

• A parent 
• A guardian or guardian ad litem 
• Next of kin 

Virginia 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 63.2-1201 

• Any resident 
• A husband and wife jointly 
• A stepparent 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: §§ 63.2-1200; 63.2-1243 

• A minor child 
• An adult if:  

o A stepchild 
o A niece or nephew 
o Has resided in the home for 3 months prior to majority 
o For good cause shown, provided that the petitioner is at least 15 years older 

    

 

 



 
 
 
Parties to an Adoption                                                                                            http://naic.acf.hhs.gov 
 

Current Through March 2004 28 
This material may be freely reproduced and distributed. 

However, when doing so, please credit the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse. 
 

 

Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 63.2-1200 

• A licensed child-placing agency 
• A local board of social services 
• The child's parent or legal guardian 
• An out-of-state agency that is licensed by that State, but any entrustment agreement must comply with Virginia law to be 

valid 

Washington 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 26.33.140 
 
Any person who is:  

• Legally competent 
• Age 18 or older 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 26.33.140 
 
Any person, regardless of age or residence  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 26.33.160 

• A parent or guardian 
• The department 
• A child-placing agency 

West Virginia 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 48-22-201 

• Any person 
• A stepparent 
• A husband and wife jointly 
• Any married person with consent of spouse 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: §§ 48-22-201; 48-22-801 

• Any minor child 
• Any person age 18 or older by a West Virginia resident 
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Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 49-3-1 

• The child welfare agency 
• The department 

Wisconsin 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 48.82 

• A resident of the State 
• A husband and wife jointly 
• A stepparent 
• An unmarried adult 

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 48.81 
 
Any child present in the State who is free for adoption, as defined in this section  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: §§ 48.837; 48.833 

• A parent having custody of the child 
• The department 
• A licensed child-placing agency 

Wyoming 

   Who May Adopt 
Statute: § 1-22-103 
 
Any adult person who has resided in the State at least 60 days and determined to be fit and competent  

   Who May Be Adopted 
Statute: § 1-22-102 
 
Any person present within the State when the petition is filed  

   Who May Place a Child for Adoption 
Statute: § 1-22-109 

• The child's parent(s) 
• Legal guardian or custodian 
• A licensed child-placing agency 
• The Department of Family Services 
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